Class 7

Radioactive Material

Radioactivity is a part of nature. Everything is made of atoms. Radioactive atoms are unstable; that is, they have too much energy. When radioactive atoms spontaneously release their extra energy, they are said to decay. All radioactive atoms decay eventually, though they do not all decay at the same rate. After releasing all their excess energy (radiation), the atoms become stable and are no longer radioactive. The time required for decay depends upon the type of atom. Some decay in fractions of a second other in billions of years.

The majority of Radioactive Material transported by Air is for the medical industry, often for treatment of cancer patients. Thus it is our firm belief that any medical radioactive shipment is the most important package traveling by air. Most of the Radioactive isotopes used in medicine have a very short half-life thus any delay in transport may result in the patient not receiving his/hers potentially life saving treatment.

RADAC is a commonly used term in reference to Radioactive Material



There are no sub-division but we have 3 different categories depending on the power of the Radac

Cat I White - The least powerful radioactive material
Category II Yellow - Medium power
Category III Yellow - The most powerful radioactive
Fissile - Any Category can be fissile and is then additionally labelled

Common Examples

Radioactive ores, Medical isotopes, density gauges, depleted uranium, Uranium hexafluoride

Return To DG Overview